New Publication: ‘Religion in Museums’

This is a short post to announce that Religion in Museums: Today and Tomorrow, edited by G. Buggeln, C. Paine, and S. B. Plate and published by Bloomsbury is now out.

I contributed to this book with a chapter, Archaeological displays: Ancient objects, current beliefs, in which I discuss how archaeological displays of religious objects are experienced by museum audiences today. The chapter compares the reactions to objects from religions that are not practiced anymore, to objects sacred also to current religions, and it then discusses the debate on human remains (which is discussed more in-depth also elsewhere in the book).

I am very grateful to the editors for inviting me to submit this chapter and it was interesting to focus my attention on religious objects in museums, a topic that touches upon my past research in Late Antiquity and my current research in museums.

Leave a Reply

